Nutcracker Suite


This is a superb transcription of Frank Comstock's absolutely brilliant chart of Tchaikovsky's Nutcracker Suite written for the Les Brown band. It is seven and a half minutes of musical inspiration, and definitely not for the faint-hearted. This is a very difficult chart which will require thorough familiarisation by your players in order to manage the many transitions of mood, feel and tempo that occur in the piece. Everything has been included, from the correctly voiced Clarinet quartet in the Allegro, the Guitar solo (also cued on Piano), the sax solo in the March (on Tenor 2) , the Piano solo in Sugar Plum, and all of the correct drum licks and rhythms that knit the arrangement together. Sax doubles are required - both Altos and Tenor 1 on Clarinet, Baritone on Bass Clarinet - as without them the chart just isn't right. If your band has the players and the skill to pull it off, this chart will bring the house down.

Part Number
Multiple tempos
Arranged by
Frank Comstock
Transcribed by
Jon Harpin
Les Brown
7 mins 30 secs
Trumpets 1-4
E6, C#6, B5, G#5
Trombones 1-4
D5, Bb4, G4, D4

PDF Icon