My Blue Heaven


Here's a great swinging chart from the Ted Heath Orchestra, full of punch and power. It opens with unison Trumpets carrying the melody call, with a band response phrase from Don't Get Around Much Anymore. The reeds take the middle 8 and the chart moves into a solo spot for lead Tenor for the first half of the second chorus. Unison Trumpets take the second middle 8, with an 8 measure Piano solo leading into the tutti shout chorus, and boy, does it shout! There's a solo spot for Trumpet 2 here, before the chart climaxes with a bang, and then a sudden change of dynamic in the last 2 measures to bring matters to a relaxed close. All of the solos are written out, though your players can improvise their own from the chords if preferred. There are no sax doubles.

Part Number
Transcribed by
Myles Collins
Ted Heath
2 mins 5 secs
Trumpets 1-4
E6, D6, B5, B5
Trombones 1-4
Bb4, Ab4, F4, Eb4

PDF Icon